Babus to leave house after leaving post in Chandigarh: The Tribune India

Tribune press service

Pradeep Sharma

Chandigarh, October 3

Senior administrative officials in Punjab, Haryana and Chandigarh, including Chief Secretaries, Chief Police Officers (DGPs), Principal Secretaries to the Chief Minister and UT Advisor, will now have to leave their official accommodation within one month of resigning from their position.

Chandigarh administration having notified rules for allocation (amendment) of government residences (general pool of Chandigarh administration), 2022, 12 senior officials from Punjab, Haryana and Chandigarh will have no rights on these houses once they have relinquished their position.

“These 12 houses must be assigned to a particular post and not in the name of a particular officer. Where the officer occupying the reserved house relinquishes the post by transfer or otherwise, the house shall not be retained under any circumstances,” said a notification issued by Nitika Pawar, Special Secretary, House Allotment Committee, Chandigarh Administration.

The list of reserved houses included official residences of Chief Secretaries of Punjab and Haryana, DGPs of Punjab, Haryana and Chandigarh, Principal Secretaries of Chief Ministers of Punjab and Haryana, UT Advisor, UT Home Secretary, UT Finance Secretary, Deputy Commissioner, Chandigarh, and SSP, Chandigarh. The notification claimed that the outgoing incumbent should vacate the reserved houses within one month of the expiration of their tenure so that they could be made available to the next incumbent.

However, the holder of the reserved houses can retain their accommodation on payment of a nominal license fee for up to four months or until they obtain a house in the pool from the Government of India. This will only apply to those who visit the central government on deputation, the notification added.

One month window for 12 bureaucrats

  • Secys Chief of Punjab, Haryana
  • Punjab DGP, Haryana, UT
  • Main secys to Pb, Hry CMs
  • Advisor to the UT Administrator
  • UT Interior Secretary
  • UT Finance Secretary
  • DC, Chandīgarh
  • SSP, Chandīgarh

Comments are closed.